Franklin Little League Softball Clinches State Title

For the second year in a row, the Franklin Little League all-star machine pitch softball team clinched the title of Machine Pitch North Carolina Champions. The softball team recently defeated Cherokee in the final championship game in Sylva 17-11 to once again clinch the state title.

After two successful pool play games, the softball team earned the top seat in the tournament and defeated Rutherfordton 11-0 in the first game of the finals moving on to play Cherokee in the final game. The six teams in the state tournament were Cherokee, Forest City, Franklin, King, Rutherfordton and Wilmington.

The girls earned their right to play in the state tournament after sweeping the District 5 tournament in Waynesville. The softball team won their first game in the district tournament with a run rule over Jackson County followed by another win with a run rule over Waynesville. The girls then advanced to the final round of the district tournament defeating Cherokee in the district championship game 21-11. All star players are: Kira Hall, Brooklyn Keneipp, Layla Maloy, Cami Mason, Ashlyn McConnell, Kady McDowell, Kyndal Rathbone, Kamden Reis,  Kendall Rumans, Anna Stiles and Lillian Tux-Xoi. The girls were coached by head coach Missy McConnell and assistant coaches Matt Mason, David McConnell & Chris Rumans.

The all-star softball team of 7 & 8-year old girls were selected from the Franklin Little League softball program. There were 4 league teams during the regular season, and the all-star team was made up of the top 11 girls from those teams.