Franklin Celebrates Independence Day

A large crowd gathered downtown Wednesday for Franklin’s All-American Fourth of July celebration hosted by the Town of Franklin. There was plenty of patriotic fun for participants of all ages, including free watermelon and popcorn. Inflatables including an inflatable water slide were available for the children.

Spectators lined both sides of Main Street to view the traditional Fourth of July parade featuring dogs and children dressed in patriotic gear, local law enforcement, antique cars, motorcycles and military vehicles. This year, organizers of the Women’s History Trail with the Folk Heritage Association of Macon County marched in the parade dressed in vintage clothing.

This year’s celebration featured the third annual Mr. & Miss Firecracker Contest featuring 30 contestants, girls and boys from one month old to seven years old. The children were judged on patriotic costume as well as interaction with the judges and audience. Each contestant was also asked to answer one question such as “What was their favorite thing about the 4th of July?”

The winner of the third annual Mr. & Miss Firecracker were Franklin residents Annabelle Gunter, 2018 Miss Firecracker, and Turner Raby, 2018 Mr. Firecracker. Mayor Bob Scott and last year’s Miss Firecracker, Lexi Tallent, presented the two winners with a sash and trophy.

The crowd enjoyed the ever-popular Patriotic Pet Contest featuring several pets and owners in this year’s contest. Trophies were awarded to the three top winners – Moxie in a red wagon with Alistran Dowdle escorted by Michael Dowdle, first place; Piper with escorts Lilly Holland, Avery and Hadley Martin, second place; and Scoodles, escorted by McKenzie Holland, third place.

Judges for the two contests were Franklin Town Council Members Joe Collins, David Culpepper, Dinah Mashburn, and Barbara McRae. From serving watermelon and popcorn to interacting with the crowd, town employees including Town Manager Summer Woodard, Town Clerk Travis Tallent, Town Planner Justin Setser, Town Engineer Nathaniel Moore, Franklin Police Chief David Adams and Franklin Fire Chief Kevin Rohrer hosted the event.